Adventure

DarkForest

I unsheathe my sword, holding it tight in my hand. I’m surrounded at all sides by tall, broad leaf trees that block out most of the skies. I stare through a small space between two barks down toward a road. There is someone just standing there, looking around as if oblivious to their surroundings.

I leap forwards, through the gap between trees. Sword held close, held tight. I tumble through weed brush and bushes, landing squarely on the stone paved road next to the stranger. My sword arcs forward, holding my arm straight to point the tip of the blade to the stranger, whose eyes betrayed the surprise and horror he had felt.

“Avast, lad! You have entered the wrong part of these here woods!” I call bravely, keeping my arm and blade pointed and awaiting any sign of a possible attack. “These be Robin’s woods. All who pass must pay their toll to me!”

The man stammered, slightly, his right hand diving for the small blade at his side. I arc my sword downwards, expertly slicing the skin to a dull red scratch. The trick worked, as the man’s hand jumped back, and my blade swept his from it’s belt. “Naughty naughty, sir!”

“You’re just a kid!” Yelled the man. And he was right, for I was a kid near on his eleventh year of life. “I pay no toll to no brat!”

I had to sigh before my blade found home in the man’s neck. Robin wasn’t going to like my taking his life, but his coin-purse is heavy, and maybe nobody would have to know.


Okay then… Not exactly what I was going for but I do like the slight twist. A short writing practice based on a purely fictional/fantasy style.

Leave a Reply

