Becoming Serious as a Writer

Honest to god truth is I really just haven’t taken the time to start. At least, that’s what I would have said back before October of the previous year. A few curve balls thrown in and here I am, still only scratching the surface.

What am I doing? That’s what I ask myself each and every day. And each day is answered the same:

“Just enough to survive.”

But this can’t be enough. I know in my heart that I need to try harder, right? I have a newborn son, a toddler and a wife, so just working my one main job (which isn’t too bad of one, honest!) can’t be enough. So during breaks this last shift I began looking into literary magazines and other publications to get an idea of just what I need to do to get my foot in the door.

So far I have one or two places in mind to start submitting pieces when I get some finished but I would like to know some of your thoughts on it as well.

4 thoughts on “Becoming Serious as a Writer

Leave a Reply

