Writing Styles

So I’ve started a bit of a experiment in testing a different writing style. And wow, just wow.

And it’s not “Wow, look at all those likes! Everyone must be loving it!”, more like “so many likes, but very few views. Wow.”

So does the style of writing I use actually mean anything? With the two latest posts, Barstool Conversations 1 and 2, I have it set to show an excerpt which only says Barstool Conversations. One view on the most recent one means one person actually read the piece. The other one had five views, out of 15 likes (second most liked post I have ever had!)

All in all, I am thankful for the likes, and more appreciative of the actual views I get. Comments are 0 for both, which is the most disheartening thing about it all. Yeah, I’m not out to rule the world but I do still like to hear what people think about the pieces.

I have one more Barstool Conversations post coming in tomorrow, but if it gets similar results I may be returning to my usual writing style instead of doing multiple. I don’t know yet. Let’s see how this goes.

Hope everyone is having a great day, and see you all tomorrow with fresh posts AND the first post of a challenge I just picked up. Hurray for me.

5 thoughts on “Writing Styles

  1. The whole likes and views are sort of confusing. I have wondered if the views come from the WordPress Reader, and likes from people who actually come to your page. Who knows?
    What I hate is when someone comes to my blog and hits like on five or more posts in such rapid succession, I know they didn’t read anything, just left a string of likes to get or keep followers.
    I follow so many blogs I don’t have time to read them all and comment every day, so a lot of time, I just leave a like to show I read and enjoyed. And I think a lot of other people do that too. If you let it, reading and commenting on blogs can turn into a full time job.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

