Trepidation

Worry is a word that I hate to use. But I can’t help but worry, especially when it comes to writing. And sometimes I get so worked up that I can’t even continue where I am at. It’s odd, honestly, but sometimes the forms and directions don’t come as easily as I thought they would have. Then I begin to worry that I can’t work on any writing at all, and it causes me to look at writing with trepidation.

With as little time as I have been able to take with writing here lately, this is a double downer. Being unable to form more than a single sentence makes me feel less than a writer. Even saddens me. Then the trepidation really grows worse, and by the time I finally get back into the groove, a lot of the ideas have gone.

Maybe I just need to find time to write at least a little every single day. I know some authors have a daily goal of anywhere between 600-1200 words a day, minimally. I have been trying to do that myself, and even managed almost 2k in a couple nights ago. But ever since then, I haven’t been able to string a single phrase.

But after a bit of thinking, I went into the files and started to really look at what I had written. Part of it was a complete mess that made no sense. Was I on drugs? Hah, no, but it sure seemed like it. Maybe after a bit of editing (two full chapters need to be re-written, and some just added to because they are just too short) I will be able to get back towards my goal of minimally 90k words.

This book is going to either be the death of me, or I’ll end up giving up and never get it done. Let’s just hope neither happens and I can see my story bloom in other people’s eyes.

Hope everyone is having a productive day!

4 thoughts on “Trepidation

  1. I feel the same way. I tend to overthink and analyze every sentence as I write. It’s exhausting. It’s a wonder I get anything done. What’s worse is that I can’t get a short story done in one sitting as most writers suggest. I take days, even weeks to get it down. Maybe it’s because I don’t think things through like I should. Or maybe it’s because I’m writing a story that I’m not ready to write. Who knows?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I normally can’t take the time to do a short story in one sitting with my toddler and 3 month old son heh. But in analysis sometimes I find that my writing is ridiculously sub-par and leads to a re-write, which is what I’m working on now to make the story more cohesive.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally get this. I wanted to write my first book and did really well one day and since then can’t think of one word. I didn’t even get that far in. Just like the first chapter. You have an amazing skill when it comes to writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

