Renaming

Should I call it what I want to call it or should I choose a different name?

So, did some research on my title for “Waking Dream” and got slightly discouraged. First, add the word book to the end of a Google or Bing search and I see massive number of titles that are similar, most being studies of the human sleep patterns and waking dreams. My secondary title, since I decided the story will be part of a trilogy, “Nightmare Falling” had similar results. And then a bunch of fantasy books with nightmare in the title. Ugh.

But due to the overall theme of my story, Waking Dream is the perfect fit… So I am kind of at a stand still. Should I over worry about my title and change it, or keep it as it is and just ride it through?

Drop me a comment and let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Renaming

  1. I know what it’s like to pick a title that fits and find that there are other titles with the same name, feels like a punch to the heart.
    But ultimately if the title is overshadowed by other titles and related searches I’d look for a different name unless there simply is no better option.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

