Interesting…

So, I recently took a step towards write for hire. I am curremtly checking out a content mill that pays pennies for what an article of any length is worth. All that aside, I just completed my first order and am now playing the waiting game on its acceptance by the faceless client.

Let me start from the beginning. I first started looking at freelance writing about a month or two ago. Its appeal is nice, if I can build up a strong clientele. But as of yet, I haven’t even made my first step in the true proving grounds of being a freelance writer. During the research phase I  across another WordPress blog that I now follow that mentions content mills as a starting point. After looking through a few of them I created an account on one such mill.

Of course, I had to go through a short phase of creating a writing sample to be judged, proving my identity and then submitting a tax form. Fun stuff, right? Meh, it was kind of boring going through that phase. When all was good and cleared I actually started looking at the work available at my given quality rating. It’s pretty dismal, honestly. But after checking in multiple times over a three day period i finally took the first real test and wrote my first article, a 1k word piece on some company i never heard of.

If I’m lucky, it’ll go good and maybe my rating will go up. If not, oh well, so long as it doesn’t go down. But now that i have that first bit of experience under my belt I might have to start the process of becoming a true freelance writer. Maybe. We’ll see!

One thought on “Interesting…

  1. That’s pretty awesome. I follow a website that gives out a list of places that pay people to write for them.
    I don’t have the guts to actually apply for them but I think anyone who does is pretty brave and has a lot of confidence in their writing.
    Please tell us how it goes ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

