Live Long, First.

“Live long and prosper” – Spock

So I had a doctor’s appointment today that didn’t go very well. Honestly, yes, I admit I have not always been a healthy person so it did not come as much surprise to me. But the short of it is that at the ripe young age of 28, I have high blood pressure and cholesterol.

Yikes, not good.

Not going to go into detail over my poor eyes or my need of a dentist (which isn’t too bad, actually) but let’s talk about being healthy.

Just because you feel generally healthy does not mean you are. Cholesterol and blood pressure are just some of the warning signs. Mine are high, but not so high they’re deadly and catching them now gives me a chance to build up to a better, healthier living and keep going strong for years to come. So learning how to completely change my routine to better live to see my boys off to college and beyond is a new step for me.

Smoking be damned, there are several other things I was poor about throughout the last decade that I have to get better at. Today’s going to be about dieting and exercise, since those together will give me the greatest chances.

The doctor recommended a low fat diet, but gave no actual plan of action. That’s something you’ll need a nutritionist to figure out what would be best. But he did say not to fall for certain fab diets, and that “low fat” foods aren’t exactly the best way to go, either. I manage a kitchen like thing that serves fried foods as its main course, but the company as a whole is going for healthier options.

That being said, it isn’t exactly a fast move. There is still the fried wings and starches like there is no tomorrow, but it sells. But when you’re in a hurry for something to snack on during a busy work day, that fried chicken is going to be a hell of a lot quicker to scarf down than a half chicken that had been baked. And far cheaper, too. That is one thing, sadly, I will have to stop doing. Probably be best to stop eating work’s food all together and bring healthier snacks and lunches each day. That transition will not be easy by a long shot, but what’s there to say?

Then there is the “not enough time to cook” dilemma that needs to be addressed. Not just that I need to stop eating out so much for monetary reasons, but to lower the nasty bad cholesterol where my major source is. Cooking healthy foods and maintaining a good strong eating routine will be in the works. Hopefully it works out pretty well.

Exercise is a topic for another day. Walking all day ain’t cutting it, so there’s definitely going to be some hard changes a coming for that. Hopefully my bad numbers start coming down and my good ones start going up, but this is a chapter in my book of life I must start if I want to see the “Happily Ever After” ending, am I right?

Anyways! I hope you all have a great day, take advantage of your physicians if you have one, or get one and/or insurance if you don’t, and let’s all live to see “Happily Ever After” together!

2 thoughts on “Live Long, First.

Leave a Reply

