Testing Wine…

Red wine and heart health, is it true?
I can’t give you a definitive answer without first looking at the case studies. A short Google search of “Is red wine really good for you [r health]” will pull up a few results stating that yes, in moderation, it “can” be good for you.

But doesn’t mean I liked the first couple of bottles I’ve tried over the years!

I’ve never been much of a drinker. I’d enjoy a few whiskey and cokes a year, but that had always been my limit before. But can I say I avoid all alcohol? No. Fancy dinners can call for a nice glass or two, especially at Olive Garden (or other places similar in style) when you know you’re spending a pretty penny with your significant other.

But I never was a big fan of red or white wines. Whites are a no go for me, period. Just can’t stand them, their taste or texture or flavor. But I have started to become somewhat adjusted to reds. Somewhat, because I haven’t tried more than a Cabernet Sauvignon or a Merlot.

I have found one that tastes easily enough on the pallet and isn’t half bad for an after taste. It’s a Spanish table wine called Sangeria. In short sips it went well, and isn’t strong enough for a buzz in a single glass, which is good for me. Maybe after getting used to wine, I can try to sample into other styles and find some that go well with the healthier foods I do need to start eating before too long, but that’s some time off.

Do you have a favorite wine to share? I’d love to hear about it, or your thoughts on the supposed health benefits of red wine in general!

Leave a Reply

